Final Projects

Date: 4-9-17
Allison Gatyas
Class: IDS-H. Audubon’s Nature                        Instructors: Professor Lemeh and Dr. Moore
Blog Entry #10
Word Count: 692                                                  Pod or Vod-cast: No
Reading assignment: No

Location: Blowing Rocks Preserve
Time of Day: 8:40 a.m
Species: Helianthus debilis
Common Name: Dune Sunflower
Scientific Name: Helianthus debilis
Size/Dimension: 1 inch
Weight: 0.5 oz
Color: Yellow with green leaves
Images:IMG_1913.JPG
Discussion: Dune sunflowers are a flowering perennial plant that are found on coastal ecosystems. Heli means sun and anthus means flower. The plant prefers sandy soils and they grow pretty well along coastline dunes in Florida. The leaves are deltoid shaped and have many little fine hair on the bottom of the leaves. The plants act as a dune stabilizer and keep the sands from eroding and the dune from breaking down. These plants prefer much sunlight and they do not do well when covered by the maritime hammock. The petals of the flower have a distinct yellow color and people often pick them and put them in their hair as they walk along the beach. They are also a common thing for photographers to shoot because of their vibrant colors.

Location: Blowing Rocks Preserve
Time of Day: 12:15p.m
Species: E. michelini
Common Name: Notched Sand Dollar
Scientific Name: E. michelini
Size/Dimension: 3 inches
Weight: unknown
Color: green plant with vibrant purple berries.
Images:IMG_1917.JPG
Discussion: The notched sand dollar is a type of echinoderm which  tend to bury themselves in the sand and gather in large numbers. Shell collectors often take home the dried out animal tests or skeletons, and they are sometimes confused with the arrowhead sand dollar. Their live body is covered with a velvet like spines that they use to move called cilia. Their mouth is located at the bottom of thier body. Sand dollars eat crustacean larvae, diatoms, algae, and detritus. Sand dollars also have bilateral symmetry. The sand dollar also goes by many other names such as sea cookie or sea biscut, and the south africans call them pansys. Sketching the sand dollar was very relaxing because the test is white, I wasn’t worried about how I was going to color it. The Test was easy to trace with so I got a very accurate size for both drawings I did, front and back. The front has a very simple design and the back has many small grooves and lines all over the test.

Image: ( for both above organisms)

IMG_1934

Location: Blowing Rocks Preserve
Time of Day: 5:30pm
Species: Coccolobo uvifera
Common Name: Sea Grape
Scientific Name: Coccolobo uvifera
Size/Dimension: 5 inches and 3 inches
Weight: unknown
Color: grey barked tree with green leaves that  turn brown when dying
Images:IMG_1321.JPG
Discussion: The sea grape is an ornamental plant and a native plant that is used to stabilize beaches due to its high salt tolerance. Sea grapes are dubbed this due to the fruit it produces, large spherical fruit that hangs like a grape vine. I had grown up around these plants all my life out on the water with my parents and I just now learned that you can eat sea grapes right of the plant or it can be made into jelly. I know what I am trying next time I hit the beach! Sea grapes leaves go from green to red to brown when they start dying off.  My boyfriend was an art major before he picked up a guitar so he helped coach me in the shading when using colored pencils. It was nice to bond that way because he is a great teacher. My favorite part about the field studies journals is that I can keep various notes and lists along with my sketches. I know I will most likely become more patient in my drawing and coloring skills, but the OCD in me loves the detailed notes! The first sea grape I drew is not nearly as detailed and colorful as this one. I have developed much better art skills and have become more patient in my coloring. Professor Lemeh and my boyfriend Josh have helped me immensely in realizing that I need to add mulitple layers of color and to blend as well as to NOT BE AFRAID OF MESSING UP!!!!

Rendering:

IMG_1944

Leave a Reply

