3 Abacoa Greenway Sketches

Date: 2-9-17
Allison Gatyas
Class: IDS-H. Audubon                          Instructors: Professor Lemeh and Dr. Moore
Blog Entry #9
Word Count: 798                                      Pod or Vod-cast: No
Reading assignment: No

Location: Abacoa Greenway, 328° NW Jupiter FL. 26° 53’20” N 80° 6’36”
Time of Day: 8:40 a.m
Species: Callicarpa americana
Common Name: American Beauty
Scientific Name: Callicarpa americana
Size/Dimension: Plant height 3 feet
Weight: unknown
Color: green plant with vibrant purple berries.
Images:

IMG_1352.JPGIMG_1353.JPGIMG_1356.JPGIMG_1359.JPG

Sketch:

american-beauty-1

Discussion:

This rendering was very enjoyable to create because of the vibrant colors of the berries. I saw this from the road before entering the greenway and we amazed by the pop of color against the green and brown landscape. The name of this plant is American Beauty and rightfully so because that color is amazing. I am a seamstress and I have ben contemplating creating dyes for fabric and this would be a very cool color to make a natural dye from the berries. Though I found this blooming in February, the plant usually blooms May, June, and July. It does not need a lot of water to grow and is heat and cold tolerant.This fruit is edible to birds and deer as well as humans. So if I ever get lost out in the greenway, I’ll know how to survive! I used methods from the Canfield readings in drawing this sketch because I found that coloring half of the photo keeps the detail much better while still showing the color on the top half of the sketch. This will probably be the rendering that I do on the large sheet of paper and I want to try to render it with watercolor because I think the color of the berries will turn out better.

Location: Abacoa Greenway, 328° NW Jupiter FL. 26° 53’20” N 80° 6’36”
Time of Day: 9:21 a.m
Species: Pinus elliottii
Common Name: Burnt Slash Pine piece
Scientific Name: Pinus elliottii
Size/Dimension: 2 foot long from tip to tip. Only drew top half.
Weight: unknown
Color: charcoal colored mixed with brown on top burnt part. Wet and rotting on the back.
Images:

IMG_1410.JPGIMG_1407.JPG

Sketch:

burnt-woood

Never a fan of scanned pictures of my renderings, so here is a photo of this one.

IMG_1440.JPG

Discussion: I have a special obsession with burn wood and driftwood so as soon as I found this piece of wood I was so excited to sketch it and I had wanted to take it home for my collection but it was rotting and wet on the back, so in the greenway it stayed. This was a sketch that I will keep black and white as well because of the heavy charcoal coloring on the tip on the burnt wood. I believe this is a piece of slash pine tree which is typically found in swampy areas in Florida. Dr. Moore told us about the prescribed burns that they do in the greenway to keep the landscape as natural as possible. Burning the area allows for species to get nutrients from the ashes of plants that were burned. It also rids the area of any invasives that are not tolerant to flame. Shading was very pertinent to this piece because of all of the varying shades of gray and black on the burnt parts of the wood. The seeds of the tree are spread by pinecones, another obsession of mine, which I will try to illustrate in future renderings for class or for my own personal enjoyment.

Location: Abacoa Greenway, 328° NW Jupiter FL. 26° 53’20” N 80° 6’36”
Time of Day: 9:45 a.m
Species: Abrus precatorius
Common Name: Rosary Pea
Scientific Name: Abrus precatorius
Size/Dimension: 2 inches
Weight: unknown
Color: brown seed pod with bright red/pink peas with black bottoms. resembles black eyed peas, but redish instead of white.
Images:

IMG_1431.JPG

IMG_1433.JPGIMG_1432.JPGIMG_1435.JPG

Sketch:

rosary-pea

Discussion: As we were walking through the greenway my friend and I were getting increasingly hungry and we happened upon this specimen and thought how pretty they were and how they resembled black eyed peas. This got us wondering whether or not we could eat them. Turns out they are poisonous and they could kill a person if you chew them up enough and swallow them. Tough luck for us. Another common name for the plant is wild licorice and now I am curious as to if they taste like licorice. Guess I’ll never find out. But the pea grows on a vine like a manner and is originally from India. They are often used to make rosaries for prayer and jewelry to ward off bad spirits and to make percussion instruments, it is also said that they have a consistent weight and were used to weigh gold. I love learning all about the random specimens I find for class because I was out on my run the other day and spotted a rosary pea growing on someone’s fence line. I should probably warm them because they have dogs and horses.

 

Sources:

http://www.wildflower.org/plants/result.php?id_plant=CAAM2

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Abrus_precatorius

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Pinus_elliottii

Leave a Reply

