Discussion 11&12 Canfield.

Date: 2-15-17
Allison Gatyas
Class: IDS-H. Audubon                          Instructors: Professor Lemeh and Dr. Moore
Blog Entry #8
Word Count:                                       Pod or Vod-cast: No
Reading assignment: Yes – Chpts.  11&12

Chapter 11: John Perrine and James Patton write about their 3 part system for field notes that they inherited from MVZ Scientist Joseph Grinnell. The journal consists of the day’s activities and specimens found and described in personal journals. The catalog is a more detailed record of the specimens collected that contain all kinds of measurements and figures. The third part is the species accounts and they are very specific summaries of each individual species that was found and documented. This method allows for a structured layout and format for field studies. This is an interesting way to structure a field studies journal because it incorporates personal attributes to a more scientific study. I feel it is more tedious than it has to be because there is great technology that can be utilized to complete the final two parts of the journal.

Chapter 12: Erik Greene writes about how important it is to keep field journals. This chapter is, for me, the only vital chapter. It summarizes the practices spoken about in previous chapters but leaves the practices up for interpretation by each individuals preferences in field journaling. The journals are impotrant for the writer to go back and remember vital information about what was observed. It is also important to keep detailed field journals so that others are able to learn from your experiences. What a world it would be without Darwins journals! He also gives helpful tips and tricks for journaling. He says that hardcover journals and bound books are the best so as to not lose any valuable work. Make sure to use a readable format, information about your location, time of day, etc. Always make back up copies just incase your work is lost on one device it can be retrieved. Never leave home without your journal so incase you make a discovery you can make note of it. The structure is very important so that it is easily readable. We have learned about all of these methods from Dr. Moore and Professor Lemeh. My favorite part about journaling is how I have to force myself to be patient. I am very keen on writing notes and making detailed entries in my journal. Drawing is not my strong suit. I am a crafter and I like sewing so drawing is a monster of its own for me but I have great teachers to help me learn methods of drawing as well as my boyfriend and my brother who show me helpful tips and tricks for rendering my specimens.

End of book rant: I did not much like reading every account of each person’s note taking process because I feel like most of them were regurgitating the same information over and over again. This book could have been 11 chapters shorter than it is. The only highlight was being able to look at all of the pictures and renderings of other artists and biologists in the field, they gave me a few ideas to use in my FSJ.

Leave a Reply

