3 Coral Cove Sketches

Date: 2-9-17
Allison Gatyas
Class: IDS-H. Audubon                          Instructors: Professor Lemeh and Dr. Moore
Blog Entry #6
Word Count: 905                                      Pod or Vod-cast: No
Reading assignment: No

Location: Coral Cove Park, 19450 County Hwy 707, Tequesta, FL 33469
Time of Day: 9:16 a.m.
Species: Architectonicidae
Common Name: Sundial Shell
Scientific Name: Architectonicidae
Size/Dimension: 1 inch
Weight: unknown
Color: white with light orange/yellow square spots
Images:

IMG_1287.JPG

I found the shell bottom up next to the large rock where I found the moss, I was quite excited because I had never seen anything like it before.

IMG_1288.JPG

I love how the color of the top is dull. The images I found on google make it seem like the colors are very vibrant probably due to a polish. I like the natural look.

IMG_1301.JPG

I had found these four specimens and had a difficult time deciding which to draw. From top to bottom is a piece of a scallop, the sundial shell, the bottom portion of a barnacle, and a dead piece of sand dollar. I found them all in the same batch of shells near the rock with the algae.

IMG_1302.JPG

Interesting side view of the sundial shell.

IMG_1306.JPG

Ahhh, so relaxing. This was super fun to sketch on the beach, much better than sitting in a classroom!
Sketch:

sundial
Discussion: The final sketch was easier to scan into the computer because I remembered to make all my markings darker than I had in previous renderings. The sundial shell was a very exciting find for me when I found out by Dr. Moore that it was a ‘rare find’. The word sundial is also very cool to me. After I did a little research I found that I did not know the proper words to describe what was going on with the shape of the shells. The site I found made my notes look very rudimentary. The site reads ” markedly flattened and in showing a lenticular edgewise appearance. Ever-widening whorls leave a deep umbilicus open to the tip of the spire, showing a beautifully detailed banding pattern that is reminiscent of a spiral staircase. The operculum is beehive shaped and chitinous (horny) rather than calcareous”. All of the bolded words helped me realize the shape of the shell. I will be utilizing this language as I continue with my field studies journal. The mollusk that lives in these shells generally resides in shallow, sandy waters. Folks who wear crystals and other adornments believe that the sundial shell has healing powers of nature and are connected to the Sun God.

 

Location: Coral Cove Park, 19450 County Hwy 707, Tequesta, FL 33469
Time of Day: 9:06 a.m.
Species: Chlorodesmis fastigiata
Common Name: Hairy Algae
Scientific Name: Chlorodesmis fastigiata
Size/Dimension: 8 inch space
Weight: unknown
Color: bright pop of green color with small brown patches
Image:

IMG_1277.JPGIMG_1276.JPG
Sketch:

patch
Discussion: This hairy patch of algae stood out to me due to its high contrast with the rock it was attached to. The green was very bright and whenever the waves crashed over it seemed to me like mermaid hair. I did not get to confirm with Dr. Moore the species of this algae but did my best to conclude what it was. ( I will be confirming on Friday, 10th.) Again, I learned new words to describe the hairy features of this algae. It is a filamentous algae that lives anywhere above 42 meters and is now becoming a problem in the aquaria world. The website I visited had some for sale for $25. If it were an issue why would they be selling it??? That is beside the point. It is often called turtle weed because it is thought that turtles munch on the stuff, but it has poisonous properties that allow it to be left uneaten!

 

Location: Coral Cove Park, 19450 County Hwy 707, Tequesta, FL 33469
Time of Day: 10:06 a.m.
Species: Coccoloba uvifera
Common Name: Sea Grape
Scientific Name: Coccoloba uvifera
Size/Dimension: 5 inch diameter
Weight: unknown
Color: leaf is green overall with redish pink stem
Image:

sea grape leaf.jpgsea grape 2.jpg

I had only one photo of the seagrapes and it was too dark to render, so these are reference photos from google. I sketched the leaf from multiple memories of being out on the boat with my family and on the beach in class.
Sketch:

seagrape
Discussion: The sea grape is an ornamental plant that is used to stabilize beaches due to its high salt tolerance. Sea grapes are dubbed this due to the fruit it produces, large spherical fruit that hangs like a grape vine. I had grown up around these plants all my life out on the water with my parents and I just now learned that you can eat sea grapes right of the plant or it can be made into jelly. I know what I am trying next time I hit the beach! This rendering was easier for me to sketch because the leaves are very wide and do not have a crazy shape or need any crazy art skills. My boyfriend was an art major before he picked up a guitar so he helped coach me in the shading when using colored pencils. It was nice to bond that way because he is a great teacher. my favorite part about the field studies journals is that I can keep various notes and lists along with my sketches. I know I will most likely become more patient in my drawing and coloring skills, but the OCD in me loves the detailed notes!

 

Sources:

https://www.jewelexi.com/gemstones/sundial-shells

https://www.google.com/search?q=sea+grape+leaf&rlz=1C1CHZL_enUS683US683&biw=1366&bih=613&site=webhp&source=lnms&tbm=isch&sa=X&ved=0ahUKEwi6rsTRj4PSAhVESiYKHQU7BPMQ_AUIBigB

http://shells.tricity.wsu.edu/ArcherdShellCollection/Gastropoda/Architectonicidae.html

https://www.marinesgardens.com/product_info.php?products_id=1124

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coccoloba_uvifera

Leave a Reply

