Discussions on 2&3 Canfield.

Date: 1-26-17
Allison Gatyas
Class: IDS-H. Audubon                          Instructors: Professor Lemeh and Dr. Moore
Blog Entry #2
Word Count: 493                                      Pod or Vod-cast: No
Reading assignment: Yes – Chpts.  2&3

Discussion:

Chapter 2: The author writes about his process and his experiences while he was growing up taking notes and creating field studies books as well as other numerous journals and books. He is a copious note taker and rarely goes anywhere without a pencil and a slip of paper.Taking notes is something that I enjoy and I found solace in knowing there are other that love observing nature. The exercise we did out in the arboretum was very enjoyable because we were able to draw and take copious observational notes which was really fun to be able to go back and read to make my previous blog post. I was very excited about learning this new skill that I found myself making observations a few days later about a bird I saw in my backyard Saturday morning around 9:30 a.m. when I went to work. He makes reference to a time where he would jog every day and would observe things as he ran. I have a strong connection to this type of study. I am a runner and cannot stand to run on a treadmill or go to the gym. I love running through trails and hiking in various parks as well as running through my neighborhood because of all of nature and animals that I can watch as I run. The author is very methodical and explains a time when a neighbor was upset about phoebes pooping on his motorcycle. Curious as the author is as well as his own knowledge about birds, he sat and recorded the birds and realized they were not the culprits. I have done this numerous times watching the squirrels in my front yard or the cardinals that see themselves in our side mirrors on our cars.

Chapter 3: He also makes note of how note taking and list making can be hazardous to a budding biologist because it is hard to know when to stop and smell the roses and focus on one species at a time. He does mention that lists are good if used wisely. I can relate to having a compulsion for writing lists because I make lists for everything; to-do lists, lists for shopping, lists of places I want to visit, lists of books I want to read, and now lists of species I am learning about due to this class. Even though I lose most of the to-do lists I write, I am learning to keep my notes and lists in books such as our field studies journal from the lesson with Dr. Moore. The author also made reference to the lists he would carry in his pockets as he jogged and later wrote down his observations and notes into a bound journal so he would not forget. We have only had the class for 2 days and I am already learning a plethora of new habits that I will carry with me through my career and my personal life.

Leave a Reply

